Imprint / Impressum

Privacy policy

Terms & Conditions
Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen

WINO – Adrift

mainstream record fifty

buy this release

available in CD and LP format. LP is limited to 700 copies worldwide.

The first 1000 copies of the CD version come in a handmade, branded wooden cigar box.

I guess we don’t need to rave about the legacy of the man who is Robert Scott Weinrich, better known as Wino. Or do we? If names such as Saint Vitus, The Obsessed, Spirit Caravan, The Hidden Hand or Shrinebuilder ring a bell at you then you know anyway what we are talking. If they don’t we will have a hard time figuring out what kinda business you have in receiving this CD. So anyway, we are talking true Rock legacy here as well as history. Two decades of fine musical craftmanship, never surrender and no stop for gas – this is Wino.¬† He has been putting his soul on the line for nearly three decades with his unique brand of Sabbath-inspired Doom / Stoner rock. He formed the hugely influential The Obsessed and went on to play in the legendary Saint Vitus.¬† The Stoner Rock and Doom genres in particular and the whole Rock scene owe him much more than a bit.

In the more recent past became reality what has been spread as rumour for a while and made all his fans breathless: Shrinebuilder. Something that can easily be described as a supergroup of underground heavy music consisting of members of Neurosis, Om, Melvins and your man Wino himself. As if this wouldn’t have been enough the reunion of the mighty SAINT VITUS took shape at the Roadburn Festival 2009 and has been followed until now with a number of live performances channeling into a full operating band again.

To add to his legacy he now will follow fan’s and collegue’s requests to record a fully acoustic solo record. About time you say? Fair enough. With this being his most personal and intense recording to date Wino releases a different view on his personality and history. Stripped down to the bare minimum of just his voice and his guitar he sonically illustrates the picture that paints the cover artwork as well as the title song: a man on his own, fighting tides, stormes but also times of brightness and sunshine in a boat fully equipped to survive but with no sails, which would give him the opportunity to steer the boat to wherever he would want. With the sails missing he is bound to the will of something extern, name it destiny, name it the ocean of life – the drift being the way, adrift being his kismet. The songs on the album follow classical American songwritership ideals by being a mixture of worded emotions and storytelling. With his approach, Wino lifts himself on a level with great songwriters such as Johnny Cash, John Sebastian, Woodie Guthrie or Bob Dylan.

No question his fans will appreciate this new effort by the man on new land. His intense and superb technical playing abilities on the guitar reach new heights and show that he, the godfather of the riff has a tremendous sense for melodies, which truly shine on “Adrift”

Track Listing
1. Adrift
2. I Don’t Care
3. Hold On Love
4. Mala Suerte
5. Old And Alone
6. Iron Horse/ Born To Lose
7. Suzanes Song
8. DBear
9. Whatever
10. Shot In The Head
11. O.B.E.
12. Green Speed

Release Date: 24 September 2010










RELEASE  THE HIDDEN HAND – Mother Teacher Destroyer



RELEASE  THE HIDDEN HAND – Divine Propaganda